Loyalty

I’m a bit dopey on pain meds at the moment, but I’m going to do my best to be as coherent as possible here.  Gotta get my feelings out.  

Loyalty.  That’s a word I’ve been thinking about a lot lately.  I see people posting memes about it on Facebook and such, and I think a lot of folks are confused on the concept.

Loyalty can mean many different things to different people.  Here’s what it means to me:

  • Speaking the truth
  • Saying what you mean, and meaning what you say
  • Saying nothing behind someone’s back that you wouldn’t say to their face
  • Letting your actions follow your words
  • Trusting folks that are close to you until you’re given a good reason not to

I’ve been letting people treat me with less than those things.  That’s not ok.  Friends are supposed to trust you.  They’re supposed to believe you.  Even when they don’t like what they hear.  They’re not supposed to cast aspersions on your character.  They’re not supposed to assume you have ulterior motives and make you feel like a dirty, used object.  Regardless of “advice” from others that aren’t part of the equation.  They’re supposed to accept responsibility for their choices, regardless of fears or insecurities.  That’s part of being an adult; dealing responsibly with the consequences of ones’ actions.  Especially when the situation is of ones’ own making.  It’s ok to be scared, but it’s not ok to treat someone like dirt because of that fear.  It’s even worse when that person is someone whom you claim to respect.

Leave a Reply

